5 things That Will Make your Senior session a breeze

I always wish I could let you in on a few things to make your session run smooth,  and help you get the best session experience ever. Its likely though that we will not meet before your shoot unless you have picked the LUXE session.  charlesstreetphotographyNHSdsc_0729

#1. BOOK ME EARLY!!! Not kidding ! Book as soon as you know you want me to capture your Senior Portraits. I book up fast and though I try to fit in everyone, it messes with how much time I can spend on planning your session. When we have a few months to plan your session will be a lot more unique. I will be able to scout specific locations and spend time defining the look of your session. Sure I will still make your session as unique as possible with only a weeks notice, but when we can collaborate its sure to be amazing!

Thats not the only reason I encourage you to book early though, if you are looking at a Luxe or Glam session. My HMUA is in high demand booking early helps me make sure you get prime spots at the right time of day and without stress.

#2.  Hair Cuts and Color! Do not do this within 2 weeks of your session, you could regret it. Its happened to us all the BAD hair cut, but with your Senior pictures it better to wait for the drastic change. Trim your hair about two weeks out so it not too NEW, and when changing colors or adding highlights the same rules apply allow enough time to correct something your not in love with .

#3. Pull out your favorite outfits, try pulling about 10. Try them all out. If your want to wear shorts or shorter dresses & Skirts, sit in them and make sure your comfortable, use a full length mirror  or Ask Mom for her opinion. I can promise she will be honest!  Strike out any super busy patterns or overly bold colors.  Narrow it down to your top 5 . Hang them but outfit and attach jewelry, scarves and hats shoes with bags to the hanger. This is especially useful for Light sessions, and makes for quick changes.

#4. Bring a friend if you think you’ll be more relaxed, but one your not afraid of being an idiot around. I’m really  easy to get to know so your really don’t need to stress on poses. I read a blog once  …and no judgement…but it said to practice posing. As great as that sounds I just don’t think you need to stress it. Relax, I’ll show you what I want you to do so there is no need to wonder where to put your hands or if you should smile. I got that covered just come ready to have fun! 2014-11-25_0009

#5 If you have questions, ask! If you want to try something tell me! Don’t be afraid to be goofy or serious if thats who you are . Don’t leave out something your passionate about either. Do you want cheer shots or sports shots included, tell me. If you love reading or horses, I want to know . My only goal is preserving who you are now in images. In the future I don’t want you looking back and wishing you got pictures with your dog  or  doing something you love. You are going to be changing so much over the next few years, embrace who you are now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

